DoxyPress Installation and Windows SmartScreen

Discuss issues related to installing or building

DoxyPress Installation and Windows SmartScreen

Postby usingcpp » Fri Mar 10 2017 12:45 pm

I downloaded the 64-bit Windows installer for DoxyPress onto a system running Windows 10. When I executed it, a messagebox with the following message was displayed:
Windows SmartScreen prevented an unrecognized app from starting. Running this app might put your PC at risk.

It is possible to override this warning and allow the program to run. However, immediately before actually installing the programs, another messagebox with the following message is displayed:
The program cannot be installed in C:\Program Files\DoxyPress. Please enter a different path.

Is there any workaround for this, or am I required to place in some location like C:\DoxyPress?
usingcpp
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 09 2017 12:50 pm

Re: DoxyPress Installation and Windows SmartScreen

Postby barbara » Fri Mar 10 2017 8:07 pm

Thank you so much for looking at DoxyPress and also for taking the time to ask as your question.

I tested this first on Windows 7 and neither issue came up. I was able to install in the "Program Files" folder just fine.

I than ran an install test on our Windows 10 VM and did not receive any issues about this being an unrecognized app. I did however receive the exact message you did about not being able to install DoxyPress in the "Program Files" folder. As a test I was able to install the program to C:\Program FilesX\Doxypress, which lets me know this is not a space issue but rather something in Windows.

There is nothing in the Windows installer set up to limit installation. We use CreateInstall to generate the installer. I will check with the developer to see if there is something we need to override.

We look forward to hearing any other issues or questions you may have about DoxyPress.

Barbara
barbara
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 04 2015 2:32 am

Re: DoxyPress Installation and Windows SmartScreen

Postby usingcpp » Tue Mar 14 2017 12:47 am

If I start the installer using Run as Administrator, the User Account Control dialog is displayed asking me if I want to allow the program to make changes to the system. Answering Yes allows the programs to be installed in C:\Program Files\.

If I start the installer normally, this dialog does not display and the programs cannot be installed in C:\Program Files\. It appears the installer is not asking to be given Administrator privileges.

Either way, the first time I try to run the installer, I get the SmartScreen warning. After the first time, the SmartScreen warning is not displayed.
usingcpp
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 09 2017 12:50 pm


Return to Installation

cron