HELP: How to get started with CopperSpice?

Discuss issues related to installing or building
areriff

HELP: How to get started with CopperSpice?

Post by areriff »

I'm getting increasingly frustrated.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm new. I have zero Qt knowledge. I'm using windows and latest MSVC.
Can't seem to get anything started on CopperSpice.
I "installed" the binary release.

Doing the usual include, link, compile like the other libraries get me nowhere.
Documentation didn't help at all and made me more confused compare to when I started.

I know my way around to build other libraries such as SFML and GLFW from source and get static lib out of it.
With CopperSpice, it is very very not straightforward. I gave up on compiling CopperSpice source months ago. I figure to just go with binary. But then I can't even get binary release to compile "myHelloWorld.cpp" let alone link.

I'm new. But with CopperSpice seems like I'm a baby. Can't do anything.
I really really like the idea though. The kitchenSink demo is fantastic.

btw... what are the files in the kitchensink source root folder?
what is autotools? makefile? configure.ac?
How are they relevant in Windows?

Somebody please make a tutorial on how to get started from scratched.
From scratched I mean from the state where you just finish install windows. From nothing. No MSVC no MinGW. I want to know what software, libraries and some other random things do I need to get it to compile.

And after that's done, please improve your documentation to include things that beginner might find it godsend useful.

I regularly watching your GitHub commit once a week for few years now but that's how far I managed to do. Getting it into my computer and get it working is impossible.
barbara

Re: HELP: How to get started with CopperSpice?

Post by barbara »