QtConcurrent documentation bug

Report any problems with CopperSpice
Post Reply
seasoned_geek
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jun 11 2020 12:18 pm

QtConcurrent documentation bug

Post by seasoned_geek »

Something is really hosed here:

https://www.copperspice.com/docs/cs_api/namespace_qtconcurrent.html

with doc for QtConcurrent::run

You can see image here:

https://www.logikalsolutions.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/QtConcurrent-doc-1.png

While we are at it, the doc doesn't seem to match the actual namespace.

https://www.logikalsolutions.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/QtConcurrent-doc-2.png

Code: Select all

error: ‘run’ is not a member of ‘QtConcurrent’
Where did QtConcurrent::run() go? That was a very good tool. Let you thread off a class method that needed to do a bunch of database I/O without clogging up the main event loop or having to create your own QThread just for that.
ansel
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 10 2015 8:23 am

Re: QtConcurrent documentation bug

Post by ansel »

seasoned_geek wrote: Mon Apr 04 2022 3:53 pm Where did QtConcurrent::run() go? That was a very good tool. Let you thread off a class method that needed to do a bunch of database I/O without clogging up the main event loop or having to create your own QThread just for that.
run() is actually a function in the QtConcurrent namespace. It is declared in the header <QtConcurrentRun>, please make sure you have included this header in your source code.
Ansel Sermersheim
CopperSpice Cofounder
barbara
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Apr 04 2015 2:32 am
Contact:

Re: QtConcurrent documentation bug

Post by barbara »

The documentation for run() was mangled in the summary listing in the upper section. It was present in the detailed section. We have corrected this issue and uploaded new API documentation.

Barbara
seasoned_geek
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jun 11 2020 12:18 pm

Re: QtConcurrent documentation bug

Post by seasoned_geek »

ansel wrote: Mon Apr 04 2022 7:12 pm run() is actually a function in the QtConcurrent namespace. It is declared in the header <QtConcurrentRun>, please make sure you have included this header in your source code.
Thank you. The doc should identify the needed header like the doc does for QStringParser here:

https://www.copperspice.com/docs/cs_api/class_qstring8.html#a0ca224260c26e5bc8cbf23e942a42d10
barbara
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Apr 04 2015 2:32 am
Contact:

Re: QtConcurrent documentation bug

Post by barbara »

Noted and we will update the API docs later this week.
Post Reply